3rd Friday of Lent

Honestly…we didn’t do anything that I had planned for this 3rd Friday of Lent

and that’s ok.

I can make all the plans in the world, and God can change them.  It’s hard holding our plans loosely…I was going to remind the kids of our only offensive weapon, the Word of God.  Hebrews 4:12 “The Word of God…sharper than any two-edged sword,”  We were even going to make swords!  We set Friday aside…as a reminder!  Let it go, Kristin!  Being flexible is God’s never ending work on my life.  “Ok, God, I hear you.  I’ll roll with that instead.” My attitude doesn’t always sound that pleasant.  More like “What!? This is not how it was supposed to go!”  But maybe this actually is part of the message of Lent.  It’s letting go of what I want for what I need.  I want…but I need Christ.  Am I listening or just doing what I want?  Am I enacting my plan or obeying the Spirit’s prompt?  Stop and listen…isn’t this the real heart behind Lent?

Leave a Reply

